The Galiano Club operates through a Board consisting of up to 11 Directors each elected for a term of two years. These Directors are elected at an Annual General Meeting OR appointed (when a vacancy occurs between Annual General Meetings).

To be considered for election or appointment to the Board, a person must be a Club member. The Society is governed by a Constitution and By-Laws that are regularly reviewed and updated as necessary at the Annual General Meetings. The Board manages the Community Hall and oversees Mt. Galiano, The Bluffs and the Community Forest lands in trust for the community. The Galiano Club also runs the Community Food Program. The Board also supervises a full schedule of annual public events, all held in the South Galiano Community Hall – the Blackberry Tea and  the Christmas Craft Market, for example.

The Directors listed below, with their respective Board Positions & Committee membership, are current for 2019-2020. The Galiano Club employs four very part-time contracted staff for the Galiano Community Food Program and for cleaning in the Community Hall. Most work done for the Club – minor repairs to the Hall, work parties in the parks and playground, is done by volunteers. The Galiano Club has more than 300 members.

Board of Directors – 2019/2020

Judy Hayes,  President

Diana Burgoyne, Vice President

Carol Wilson, Treasurer

Dorothy Beauchamp, Secretary

Garth Walmsley, Parks/Forest Committee

Sonia Baker, Galiano Players

Patrick Ramsey, Galiano Cinema

Allison Whitlock, Parks/Forest Committee

Allan Forget, Parks/Forest Committee

Sylvia Jenken

Food Program Co-ordinators

Alison Colwell, Manager

Emma Davis

Barry New

Tricia Sharpe

Life Memberships

Awarded by  a Resolution of the Board of Directors, from time to time, to a Galiano Club member deserving of special recognition for outstanding participation in the Club’s many activities:

Kathlyn Benger (2010)
Don Anderson (2015)
Sue Evans (2008)
Margaret Howell (2010)
Gloria Olsen (2013)

Meritorious Service Award

In 1991 the Board of Directors instituted a Meritorious Service Award to honour members deserving of recognition for exemplary service to the Club.  A plaque was purchased for display in the Community Hall that would include the names of those awarded. That 1st year the Award was presented to 4 persons: Ella Johnson, Sue Minette, Bill Scoones, Jim Scoones.  Since then the Award has been given to just 3 others: in 2004, to Nancy McPhee & Margaret Howell; in 2011, to Don Anderson.